Before I Was A Mum

Before I was a mum, I used to smoke and drink and go out clubbing. I used to buy lots of makeup and nice clothes. I had lie-ins and did whatever I wanted. I enjoyed my life.

Before I was a mum, I didn’t realise how much my life would change. I didn’t realise how much baby poo I would examine, or how many bogeys I would pick from a nose that’s not my own. I didn’t realise how many times I would need to change my clothes because I’d been thrown up on again.

Before I was a mum, I didn’t know how much I would enjoy ‘nothing’ days with my daughter. I didn’t know how much sheer joy could be had from just one gummy baby smile. I didn’t know how much more love and respect I would gain for my husband when I watch him with his daughter. I didn’t know how much I’d miss her when we’re apart.

Before I was a mum I had no idea that my heart could be this big or this full. I had no idea that I’d ever feel like this; that looking into my precious baby’s big blue eyes would make me cry, or that I’d  have such patience.

Before I was a mum I had no idea that having a child meant I was sending a piece of my heart into the world to go walking about without me; I had no idea.

image

Leave a Reply

